• World Music Banner

  • Viva Tango banner

  • Jordi Savall

  • Harlem Quartet

  • Summer Gala Gala Page header

just announced section starts here

CLASSICAL MUSIC

Harlem Quartet 160 alt

The 35th Annual Rockport Chamber Music Festival forges ahead this week as we present acclaimed pianist and MacArthur Award winner Jeremy Denk on Thursday followed by the Harlem Quartet with guest pianist Aldo Lopez Gavilan on Friday night.

Visit our CLASSICAL LISTING for a full schedule.  Program Notes are now available and the link is just after the program listing on the individual event pages.  Purchase a Summer Subscription of 5 or more concerts and save 10% or more, as well as earn exchange privileges!

JAZZ, FOLK, WORLD & POP

Badi Assad new 160

This summer, experience the best in jazz, folk, world and pop in the intimate setting of the Shalin Liu Performance Center–don’t miss such great artists as the Chick Corea Trio, Booker T. Jones, and Arlo Guthrie.  The summer also brings such amazing young artists as the popular a cappella rock ensemble The House Jacks, the amazing swing guitarists Frank Vignola & Vinny Raniolo in a double bill with the incredible Brazilian guitarist Badi Assad (pictured), and the truly amazing jazz vocalist Lizz Wright!

Visit our JAZZ, FOLK, POP & WORLD CONCERT LISTING for all the incredible concerts coming this year. Purchase a summer subscription and save 10% or more by purchasing 5 or more concerts.

 

HD BROADCASTS

COSI 160 new

Also this summer, the Metropolitan Opera in HD’s Encore series will broadcast such favorites as ToscaLa Bohème, L’Elisir d’Amore and Cosi fan Tutte (pictured).  Check out the National Theatre of London‘s encore presentation of Hamlet with Benedict Cumberbatch.

 

June

Thursday, June 30, 8 PM
Jeremy Denk, piano

JULY

Friday, July 1, 8 PM
Harlem String Quartet & Aldo López-Gavilán, jazz piano

Saturday, July 2, 8 PM
Aztec Two-Step & Jon Pousette-Dart

Tuesday, July 5, 8 PM
Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Thursday, July 7, 8 PM
Calder Quartet

Friday, July 8, 8 PM
Hesperion XXI

Saturday, July 9, 8 PM
“Viva Tango!” with Cho-Liang Lin & Friends

Sunday, July 10, 5 PM
Kirill Gerstein, piano

Monday, July 11, 1 PM
Met Encore in HD: L’Elisir d’Amore

Thursday, July 14, 8 PM
1964: The Tribute

Friday, July 15, 8 PM
Dianne Reeves

Sunday, July 17, 5 PM
Frank Vignola & Vinny Raniolo with Badi Assad

Monday, July 18, 1 PM
Met Encore in HD: La Boheme

Tuesday, July 19, 8 PM
Colvin & Earle

Friday, July 22, 5 & 8 PM
Chanticleer

Saturday, July 23, 8 PM
Paula Cole

Sunday, July 24, 5 PM
The House Jacks

Monday, July 25, 8 PM
Tuesday, July 26, 8 PM
Chick Corea Trio

Thursday, July 28, 8 PM
Booker T. Jones

Friday, July 29, 8 PM
Lizz Wright

Saturday, July 30, 8 PM
Sunday, July 31, 5 PM
Arlo Guthrie

AUGUST

Monday, August 1, 1 PM
Met Encore in HD: Cosi fan Tutte

Thursday, August 4, 8 PM
Friday, August 5, 8 PM
Tom Rush

Saturday, August 6, 8 PM
Kathy Mattea featuring Bill Cooley

Wednesday, August 10, 8 PM
James Hunter Six

Thursday, August 11, 8 PM
Terence Blanchard featuring the E-Collective

Friday, August 12, 8 PM
Harold López-Nussa, piano

Saturday, August 13, 8 PM
Dr. Lonnie Smith

Sunday, August 14, 2 PM    
Jazz Rising Stars: Thinkin’ Big

Sunday, August 14, 7 PM
Ravi Coltrane, saxophone

Wednesday, August 17, 7 PM
Family Concert: Alexa Tarantino Jazz Quintet

Thursday, August 18, 8 PM
Johnny A. w/Davy Knowles

Thursday, August 18, 2 PM
Friday, August 19, 2 PM
Masterclasses: Improvisation

Friday, August 19, 8 PM
Buckwheat Zydeco

Saturday, August 20, 10 AM
Family Concert: FIVE PLAY

Thursday, August 25, 8 PM
Friday, August 26, 8 PM
Livingston Taylor

Saturday, August 27, 5 PM
Summer Gala: Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis

Sunday, August 28, 5 PM
Kingston Trio

SEPTEMBER

Thursday, September 1, 8 PM
Friday, September 2, 8 PM
Ani DiFranco

Friday, September 9, 8 PM
Paul Galbraith, guitar

Friday, September 16, 8 PM
Ruthie Foster

Sunday, September 18, 5 PM
John Waite

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quick Links & News

Sign-up to for our MAILING LIST!  Like us on FACEBOOK!

LEARN MORE ABOUT ROCKPORT MUSIC
As part of this year’s 35th Festival celebration, the Oral History Project committee has assembled the first in a series of articles regarding the early years of the Rockport Chamber Music Festival.  The full story can be found in the Festival program book, but you can also read it here.

PROGRAM NOTES
Want to review the program notes for upcoming or past Festival performances this year?  Click here

The Rockport Public Library provides a discography for the Summer concerts–both classical and jazz for people to come by and listen. Click here for the discography of available recordings.

CALENDAR OF EVENTS
PURCHASE A SUMMER SUBSCRIPTION with 5 or more concerts!
GIFT CERTIFICATES
MAKE A GIFT
Find out about VOLUNTEER opportunities with ROCKPORT MUSIC!

RCMF Ed activities for web1Education
& Community

Rockport Music is dedicated to fostering an appreciation of music through accessible programs for people of all ages. Providing programs to students throughout Cape Ann, watch our education video (to the right) about our recent Jazz Camp to learn more.  The Rockport Chamber Music Festival hosts numerous education & outreach events, click on the Events link below (or click on the link within this text).

Youth Education Programs
Adult Enrichment Programs
Upcoming Concerts and Events
Rockport Jazz Camp

slpc-beauty-shot

Experience the
Shalin Liu Performance Center