just announced section starts here

CLASSICAL MUSIC

 

 

The 2018 Rockport Chamber Music Festival with a theme of r:EVOLUTION in Artistic Director Barry Shiffman’s first festival brings such world-class artists as Emerson and Brentano quartets, A Far Cry (pictured), and pianist Minsoo Sohn.  Enjoy this Festival Teaser to find out about the great music coming this summer!  

JAZZ, FOLK, WORLD & POP

The summer season is here and next month we feature several Americana and roots acts, including the musical cowboys Riders in the Sky, New Orleans’ folkie soul outfit The Subdudes, and the Celtic rock juggernaut of Enter the Haggis.   LEARN MORE

HD BROADCASTS

National Theatre of London: (returning in the fall)
Metropolitan Opera in HD: Madama Butterfly
Bolshoi Ballet: 

JUNE

June 15-July 15, 2018
37th Annual
ROCKPORT CHAMBER MUSIC FESTIVAL
r:EVOLUTION

Friday, June 15, 8 PM
Opening Night: Souvenir de France & Ayre

Saturday, June 16, 4 PM
Theatre: Kafka & Son

Saturday, June 16, 8 PM
Montrose Trio & Barry Shiffman

Sunday, June 17, 5 PM
Snow in June:
Frederic Chiu & Andres Diaz

Thursday, June 21, 7:30 PM
An Evening of Brahms: 
Samantha Hankey, Anton Nel

Thursday, June 21, 10 PM
Classical Cabaret: Carmen & Liszt

Friday, June 22, 8 PM
War and Peace: Attacca Quartet 

Saturday, June 23, 8 PM
Bach and Forth: Stephen Prutsman, piano

Sunday, June 24, 5 PM
Handel Love Duets:
LeBlanc & Taylor

Wednesday, June 27, 7 PM
YOUNG ARTIST SPOTLIGHT
Rockport Fellowship Quartet & Tony Yang

Thursday, June 28, 8 PM
Beethoven Sonatas: James Ehnes, violin

Friday, June 29, 11 AM
FILM: Virtuosity–The Cliburn

Friday, June 29, 8 PM
Brentano Quartet 
& Yekwon Sunwoo, piano

Saturday, June 30, 10 AM
FAMILY CONCERT
Rockport Fellowship Quartet & Tony Yang

Saturday, June 30, 8 PM
Brentano Quartet & Dawn Upshaw, soprano

 

JULY

Sunday, July 1, 5 PM
Goldberg Variations
with Minsoo Sohn, piano

Monday, July 2, 8 PM
Riders in the Sky

Thursday, July 5, 2 PM
OPEN REHEARSAL
Rolston Quartet & Davóne Tines

Friday, July 6, 11 AM
FILM: Exit Music

Friday, July 6, 7:30 PM
Were You There: 
Rolston Quartet & Davóne Tines, bass-baritone

Friday, July 6, 10 PM
Classical Cabaret: Bach & Golijov

Saturday, July 7, 8 PM
A Far Cry

Sunday, July 8, 5 PM
The ARC Ensemble & Davóne Tines

Monday, July 9, 8 PM
The Subdudes

Thursday, July 12, 7 PM
Bach Suites with Colin Carr, cello

Friday, July 13, 8 PM
Dover Quartet & Barry Shiffman, viola

Saturday, July 14, 10 AM
FAMILY CONCERT: Dover Quartet

Saturday, July 14, 7:30 PM
Igudesman & Joo

Saturday, July 14, 10 PM
Classical Cabaret: Schumann & Popper

Sunday, July 15, 5 PM
Festival Closing Concert:
Emerson Quartet & 
Colin Carr, cello

Monday, July 16, 8 PM
Jim Messina

Tuesday, July 17, 7 PM
Met Opera in HD: Madama Butterfly

Wednesday, July 18, 7 PM
Alexa Tarantino Quartet with Ulysses Owens, Jr.

Thursday, July 19, 8 PM
Enter the Haggis

Saturday, July 21, 8 PM
Quebe Sisters

Sunday, July 22, 5 PM
Dianne Reeves

Monday, July 23, 7 PM
Met Opera in HD: Il Trovatore

Wednesday, July 25, 7 PM
Jazz Workshop Faculty Concert with Lauren Sevian

Thursday, July 26, 8 PM
Friday, July 27, 8 PM
Arlo Guthrie

Saturday, July 28, 8 PM
Brothers Four

Sunday, July 29, 7 PM
Ruthie Foster

Monday, July 30, 7 PM
Met Opera in HD: Eugene Onegin

Tuesday, July 31, 8 PM
Jake Shimabukuro

AUGUST

Friday, August 3, 8 PM
Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio

Saturday, August 4, 8 PM
Jazz Fest: Harold López-Nussa

Sunday, August 5, 5 PM
Festival Annex: Pinchas Zukerman Trio

Monday, August 6, 7 PM
Met Opera in HD: Turandot

Thursday, August 9, 8 PM
Jazz Fest: Grace Kelly

Friday, August 10, 8 PM
Jazz Fest: Kurt Elling

Saturday, August 11, 8 PM
Jazz Fest: Monty Alexander Trio

Sunday, August 12, 7 PM
Jazz Fest: Joe Lovano Quartet

Wednesday, August 15, 8 PM
Della Mae

Thursday, August 16, 8 PM
Friday, August 17, 8 PM
Paula Cole

Sunday, August 19, 7 PM
Larry Carlton

Friday, August 24, 8 PM
Jane Monheit

Saturday, August 25, 5 & 8 PM
Peter Sagal (host of Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me)

Sunday, August 26, 5 PM
Celtic Roots & Branches with Brian O’Donovan

Thursday, August 30, 8 PM
Friday, August 31, 8 PM
Tom Rush

SEPTEMBER

Sunday, September 16, 5 PM
John Pizzarelli & Catherine Russell

Guest Presentation
Saturday, September 22, 8 PM
Roomful of Blues

Sunday, September 23, 7 PM
Coíg

Friday, September 28, 8 PM
Red Molly

OCTOBER

Friday, October 5, 8 PM
The Weight Band

Saturday, October 27, 8 PM
The Lone Bellow

NOVEMBER

Friday, November 16, 8 PM
Tinsley Ellis & Tommy Castro

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quick Links & News

 2018 ROCKPORT CHAMBER MUSIC FESTIVAL

This summer, the Festival starts a r:EVOLUTION! Enjoy the video!

Read about the Early Years of the Festival!

CALENDAR OF EVENTS  |  JOIN MAILING LIST   |  SUBSCRIPTIONS   |   YOUTUBE

GIFT CERTIFICATES  |   MAKE A GIFT   |  VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES 

Education
& Community

Rockport Music is dedicated to fostering an appreciation of music through accessible programs for people of all ages throughout Cape Ann. Find out more about the following education and outreach programs for: 

Youth    |  Adult Enrichment  |  Upcoming Community Events

slpc-beauty-shot

Experience the
Shalin Liu Performance Center