• Lonnie & Ravi banner

  • Kathy 3

  • James Hunter Six banner

  • Terence & harold

  • Summer Gala Gala Page header

just announced section starts here

CLASSICAL MUSIC

Takacs Quartet - June 2009

The 2016-17 Season is announced with world-renowned artists Takàcs Quartet (pictured) and Trio con brio Copenhagen.  Visit our CLASSICAL LISTING for a full schedule.  Tickets are on sale August 1. Purchase a Fall-Winter Subscription of 4 or more concerts (October-May) and save 10% or more, as well as earn exchange privileges!

JAZZ, FOLK, WORLD & POP

Kathy Mattea 160

This August, hear Grammy Award winning singer-songwriter Kathy Mattea (pictured), R&B singer James Hunter, or one of our star-studded jazz musicians in the 5th annual Rockport Jazz Festival with Terence Blanchard, Ravi Coltrane, Dr. Lonnie Smith and so much more.  Also, on August 27, Rockport Music’s Summer Gala features Wynton Marsalis with the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. Visit our JAZZ, FOLK, POP & WORLD CONCERT LISTING for all the incredible concerts coming this year. The 2016-17 Fall-Winter Season tickets go on sale August 1, so consider purchasing a Fall-Spring subscription (October-May) and save 10% or more by purchasing 4 or more concerts.

 

HD BROADCASTS

La Traviata 160

Also this summer, the Metropolitan Opera in HD’s Encore series will broadcast such favorites as Cosi fan Tutte.  The Metropolitan Opera has announced its 2016-17 Live in HD season with such highlights as Don Giovanni and La Traviata (pictured).  See a full listing of upcoming Met Operas this season! Check out the National Theatre of London‘s encore presentation of Hamlet with Benedict Cumberbatch.

 

JULY

Friday, July 29, 8 PM
Lizz Wright

Saturday, July 30, 8 PM
Sunday, July 31, 5 PM
Arlo Guthrie

AUGUST

Monday, August 1, 1 PM
Met Encore in HD: Cosi fan Tutte

Thursday, August 4, 8 PM
Friday, August 5, 8 PM
Tom Rush

Saturday, August 6, 8 PM
Kathy Mattea featuring Bill Cooley

Sunday, August 7, 2:30 PM
Guest Presentation: Jonathan Miller & Marc Ryser

Wednesday, August 10, 8 PM
James Hunter Six

Thursday, August 11, 8 PM
Terence Blanchard featuring the E-Collective

Friday, August 12, 8 PM
Harold López-Nussa, piano

Saturday, August 13, 8 PM
Dr. Lonnie Smith

Sunday, August 14, 2 PM    
Jazz Rising Stars: Thinkin’ Big

Sunday, August 14, 7 PM
Ravi Coltrane, saxophone

Wednesday, August 17, 7 PM
Family Concert: Alexa Tarantino Jazz Quintet

Thursday, August 18, 8 PM
Johnny A. w/Davy Knowles

Thursday, August 18, 2 PM
Friday, August 19, 2 PM
Masterclasses: Improvisation

Friday, August 19, 8 PM
Buckwheat Zydeco

Saturday, August 20, 10 AM
Family Concert: FIVE PLAY

Thursday, August 25, 8 PM
Friday, August 26, 8 PM
Livingston Taylor

Saturday, August 27, 5 PM
Summer Gala: Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis

Sunday, August 28, 5 PM
Kingston Trio

SEPTEMBER

Thursday, September 1, 8 PM
Friday, September 2, 8 PM
Ani DiFranco

Sunday, September 4, 6 PM
Guest Presentation: The Integrated Heritage Project with the Angkor Dance Troupe

Friday, September 9, 8 PM
Paul Galbraith, guitar

Sunday, September 11, 2 PM
National Theatre Encore: Hamlet

Friday, September 16, 8 PM
Ruthie Foster

Sunday, September 18, 5 PM
John Waite & the Axemen

Tuesday, September 20, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD: One Man Two Guvnors

Sunday, September 25, 2&7 PM  | Monday, September 26, 2&7 PM
Thursday, September 29, 7 PM
Manhattan Short Film Festival

Tuesday, September 27, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD: The Threepenny Opera

Friday, September 30, 8 PM
Tom Paxton

OCTOBER

Tuesday, October 4, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD: The Audience

Friday, October 7, 8 PM
Guest Presentation: The Weight

Saturday, October 8, 12:00 PM
Met Opera in HD: Tristan und Isolde 

Sunday, October 9, 5 PM
Mehmet Ali Sanlikol & Whatsnext?
featuring Dave Liebman & Tiger Okoshi

Tuesday, October 11, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD: The Deep Blue Sea

Friday, October 14, 8 PM
Crystal Bowersox

Sunday, October 16, 3 PM
Trio con Brio Copenhagen with
Ivo van der Werff, viola & Timothy Pitts, bass

Tuesday, October 18, 7 PM
Bolshoi Ballet in HD: The Golden Age 

Thursday, October 20, 8 PM
Nina Ott Jazz Quintet

Saturday, October 22, 12:55 PM
Met Opera in HD: Don Giovanni  

NOVEMBER

Tuesday, November 1, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD Encore: Frankenstein

Friday, November 4, 8 PM
Grace Kelly  

Saturday, November 5, 8 PM
Cheryl Wheeler  

Sunday, November 6, 12:55 PM
Bolshoi Ballet in HD: The Bright Stream 

Friday, November 11, 8 PM
Takács Quartet

Sunday, November 13, 5 PM
Capitol Steps  

Friday, November 18, 8 PM
Sierra Hull 

Saturday, November 19, 8 PM
Roberto Díaz, viola & Kwan Yi, piano

DECEMBER

Saturday, December 3, 3 & 8 PM
Cape Ann Big Band Holiday Concert 

Friday, December 9, 8 PM
Dover Quartet

Saturday, December 10, 12:55 PM
Met Opera in HD:  L’Amour de Loin 

Sunday, December 11, 3 PM
Back Bay Ringers 

Monday, December 12, 4 & 8 PM
A Christmas Celtic Sojourn 

Friday, December 16, 7 PM
Bolshoi Ballet in HD: Nutcracker

Saturday, December 17, 7 PM
Holiday Community Sing  

JANUARY

Saturday, January 7, 12:55 PM
Met Opera in HD: Nabucco

Saturday, January 21, 12:55 PM
Met Opera in HD: Roméo et Juliette

Wednesday, January 25, 8 PM
Brooklyn Rider

Sunday, January 29, 12:55 PM
Bolshoi Ballet in HD: Sleeping Beauty 

FEBRUARY

Wednesday, February 8, 7 PM
Beantown Swing Orchestra 

Saturday, February 11, 12:55 PM
Bolshoi Ballet in HD: Swan Lake 

Sunday, February 12, 3 PM
Christian Tetzlaff, violin
& Lars Vogt, piano

Saturday, February 25, 12:55 PM
Met Opera in HD: Rusalka

MARCH

Thursday, March 2, 7 PM
Argus Quartet 

Sunday, March 5, 3 PM
Taeguk Mun, cello

Saturday, March 11, 12:55 PM
Met Opera Live in HD: La Traviata

Sunday, March 12, 5 PM
Gary Burton & Makoto Ozone

Saturday, March 18, 8 PM
Caladh Nua 

Tuesday, March 21, 7 PM
Bolshoi Ballet in HD: A Contemporary Evening  

Saturday, March 25, 12:55 PM
Met Opera in HD: Idomeneo

Thursday, March 30, 8 PM
SFJAZZ Collective: The Music of Miles Davis

APRIL

Tuesday, April 11, 7 PM
Bolshoi Ballet in HD: A Hero of our Time 

Saturday, April 22, 12:55 PM
Met Opera in HD: Eugene Onegin 

Wednesday, April 26, 8 PM
Foghorn Stringband  

Saturday, April 29, 8 PM
Luca Buratto, piano

MAY

Saturday, May 6, 3 PM
Boston Children’s Chorus 

Wednesday, May 10, 7 PM
Jacques Lee Wood, cello & Simon Powis, guitar 

Thursday, May 11, 8 PM
Storm Large of Pink Martini  

Saturday, May 13, 12:30 PM
Met Opera in HD: Der Rosenkavalier

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quick Links & News

Sign-up for our MAILING LIST!  Like us on FACEBOOK!

LEARN MORE ABOUT ROCKPORT MUSIC
As part of this year’s 35th Festival celebration, the Oral History Project committee has assembled the first in a series of articles regarding the early years of the Rockport Chamber Music Festival.  The full story can be found in the Festival program book, but you can also read it here.

PROGRAM NOTES
Want to review the program notes for upcoming or past Festival performances this year?  Click here

The Rockport Public Library provides a discography for the Summer concerts–both classical and jazz for people to come by and listen. Click here for the discography of available recordings.

CALENDAR OF EVENTS
PURCHASE A SUBSCRIPTION with 5 or more concerts!
GIFT CERTIFICATES
MAKE A GIFT
Find out about VOLUNTEER opportunities with ROCKPORT MUSIC!

Jazz Summer graphic for webEducation
& Community

Rockport Music is dedicated to fostering an appreciation of music through accessible programs for people of all ages. Providing programs to students throughout Cape Ann, watch our education video (to the right) about our recent Jazz Camp to learn more.  The Rockport Chamber Music Festival hosts numerous education & outreach events, click on the Events link below (or click on the link within this text).

Youth Education Programs
Adult Enrichment Programs
Upcoming Concerts and Events
Rockport Jazz Camp

slpc-beauty-shot

Experience the
Shalin Liu Performance Center